Six priests from the Diocese of Meath joined the Silver Jubilee celebrations in St Patrick’s College, Maynooth on 10 – 11 June 2013.

As indicated in the photo, the priests are (from left to right) Fr David Bradley, Fr Gerry Boyle, Bishop-Elect Denis Nulty, Fr Joseph Gallagher, Fr Phil Gaffney and Fr Denis McNelis.

Click here for a copy of the homily by Bishop-Elect Nulty during the Jubilee Mass.

Fr Bradley was ordained in Nobber on 3 July 1988.  He served as Dean at St Finian’s College until his appointment as Curate in Holy Family Parish, Drogheda in 1994, becoming Parish Priest there in 2005.

Fr Boyle’s ordination took place in Culmullen on 17 July 1988, after which he was appointed Curate in Tullamore until he was named Parish Priest of Multyfarnham in 2006.

Following his priestly ordination in Slane on 12 June 1988, Bishop-Elect Nulty became Curate in Mullingar where he remained until his appointment as Parish Priest of St Mary’s Parish, Drogheda in 1998.  His ordination as Bishop of Kildare and Leighlin will take place on Sunday 4 August in Carlow.

Fr Joseph Gallagher was ordained on 19 June 1988 in Mucklagh.  He served in Mullingar from 1988, first as Curate and subsequently appointed Cathedral Administrator in 2004.  He was nominated Parish Priest of Kilcormac in 2009.  He is Director of the Diocesan Pilgrimage to Lourdes.

Fr Gaffney’s ordination took place in Castletown-Finea on 5 June 1988.  After 15 years in St Finian’s College, he became Curate in Ratoath in 2003 and Parish Priest of Ardcath and Curraha in 2006.

Fr McNelis was ordained on 15 August 1988 in Navan.  Since then, he worked as Curate in Clara, Mount Bolus (1994), Ashbourne (2003), Trim (2007) and was appointed Parish Priest of Laytown and Mornington in 2008.  He has served as Diocesan Education Officer for many years and Vice Chairperson of CPSMA.